Nobel Peace Laureates 2005

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and its director general Mohamed Elbaradei (born in 1942), egyptian politician and lawyer. The IAEA and Mohamed Elbaradei were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for preventing the use of nuclear energy for military purposes and for striving for the safest possible use of this energy for peaceful purposes.In 2006, Professor Yunus and Grameen Bank were jointly awarded Nobel Peace Prize.

The International Atomic Energy Agency was established in 1957 in Vienna; it operates within the system of the United Nations.

The organisation’s objectives include conducting and developing research on the practical application of nuclear energy, development of knowledge about the peaceful uses of this energy, facilitating the exchange of scientific and technical information and training experts in the field. Another statutory objective of the IAEA is developing security methods and standards for nuclear energy facilities and those used to protect personnel employed at nuclear facilities.

The IAEA also conducts inspections of the radioactive materials used, reviews the operational conditions of nuclear facilities, and prepares international agreements concerning international cooperation in this area, including those applicable in the event of a nuclear disaster.

Its permanent seat is in Vienna; currently 159 countries, including Poland, are members of the Agency.