Nobel Peace Laureates call the government of Venezuela to stop the crisis and restore the democratic order in the country

Ten Nobel Peace Laureates signed the Declaration on the Humanitarian Crisis in Venezuela this May. The Declaration reflects the views of the following endorsing Nobel Peace Laureates: Shirin Ebadi, Juan Manuel Santos, Desmond Tutu, Mairead Corrigan Maguire, Leymah Gbowee, Jody Williams, Tawakkol Karman, Oscar Arias Sanchez, David Trimble and FW de Klerk.

In the Declaration the Laureates call the government of Venezuela to “put an end to the repression against peaceful demonstrations and to take effective measures that allow the immediate restoration of the democratic order. New general elections must be held without delay. Humanitarian channels must be opened to allow the people access to medicines and food – which are in short supply; the shortage of which precipitated this social crisis. Political prisoners must also be released as another essential step towards rebuilding peace and safety for the Venezuelan people.”

Calling the government of Venezuela to stop the crisis Laureates stress that: “Violence cannot be accepted as a vehicle to solve differences and, even less so, as a tool to be used by one group of people to forcibly impose their convictions upon another group. Dialogue is the only way to solve differences.”

Subscribe to our newsletter

If you want to be updated about the last news, please subscribe.